The hierarchy of social networking

There are soooo many social networking sites these days, like I can’t even name them all. They all serve a slightly different purpose, contrary to what you might think, considering they all have a lot of the same features as well. But really, they are different, and I will give it a go at remembering how ever many I can, and explain to you the purpose each serves, and consequently, rank them by importance.

1. Blogs. These are incredibly great. The most noteworthy, profound, hilarious, and credible thoughts are posted here. (especially on this blog…jk) Sometimes you might run into a dilemma, like when your thought is too complicated and large for Twitter, and seems to lengthy for Facebook, so it belongs on a blog.

2. Facebook. So you’ve completed your daily blog post, and you suddenly think of a really funny encounter you had, or a joke you want to tell, but it just isn’t quite developed enough to make into a blog post. Plus, you already posted today. So where do you turn? Facebook is just sitting there waiting for you, ready to ask you what’s on your mind.

3. Twitter. But what if your mind is running in circles? Your thoughts keep coming, and they just won’t go away! They are short, pointless, dumb, silly, whatever, and you can’t embarrass yourself in front of your family by sharing these awkward thoughts on Facebook. So now what? You tweet. It’s so convenient.

4. Email. Snapchat. Facebook messenger. Instagram. Texting. Whatever else you can do to contact people privately or control who sees a certain message. They are all convenient. I categorize them with equal importance, or lack thereof. Facebook messenger makes it easy to contact certain people while you happen to be checking in on your news feed. Email is the omniscient and omnipresent database for every message you might get from people. You can pretty much combine every email address and chat site into one email these days. Just go to your settings and tell your email what to import. Snapchat (I guess, I don’t have one) is that sort of weird, convenient social messenger with which you can communicate in pictures. I guess it’s kind of fun and different from other messenger apps. I would categorize Instagram as a twitter for pictures only. It’s a convenient way to share a picture you just took with all your friends, without cluttering the other sites you belong to with a bunch of pictures. That’s all I’ve got for instagram. Texting doesn’t really hold its own meaning anymore. I mean, you could consider all of these things in the category of “texting.” But I have an old phone, an ENV3 in fact, and I actually “text” on my phone, separately from all these other ways of communication. Unlike the iphone, where you get a message from anything and it magically appears as a notification on the home screen.

Feel free to comment anything I’m missing. You can obviously tell I do four main things on the internet. Blog, Facebook, Tweet, and check my email. And then when none of these seem to satisfy me, I text. Duh.

One thought on “The hierarchy of social networking”

Leave a Reply

