distracted driving

Driving while distracted is one of those topics that get me fired up! I think that has something to do with the fact that a distracted couple hit me a month ago, and my car was in the shop for more than a month waiting to get fixed because their extremely stubborn insurance company would not send us the money for the repairs! All is well, though. I have my car back. That doesn’t calm me down enough, considering in the past week, two more distracted drivers have almost hit my car again. I enjoyed reading an article on the Psych Central website about the causes and effects of distracted driving. The article pointed out that research is done on the causes and effects of distraction so often, but the results can only prove so much. It proves to those who drive that common sense in itself would seem to tell them that texting or putting on makeup or reading while driving does not make any sense whatsoever. No matter how many laws and consequences come about, people are still going to do these things. This is why I firmly believe that texting, talking, or even looking away from the road are all seriously big risks to take, especially when driving in the city. I also enjoyed reading about cognitive distractions. I never really put thought into how often I find myself daydreaming and my consciousness drifting. All the sudden, I get really close to the cars in front of me. It makes sense. Because our minds are focused on drifting thoughts, they lose focus on the actual stimuli around us.

Another point that was brought up was the distraction of the radio. I never thought of this as a distraction before. It is not much of a distraction compared to the use of cell phones or eating, but I find that if my radio is turned up really loud, or even slightly loud, I am not as focused on driving as I am when it is at a quiet or moderate volume.

Another thing I’d love to share about my driving experience is a small anecdote about my day at a driving clinic over the summer. It was sponsored by Ford, and it was free! (Let’s be honest, these days, when anything is free, we’re all over it.) So I went, with my mom and brother, by force. I did not want to go. I heard they were going to make me drive fast or do dangerous things that I didn’t trust myself at all with doing. Anyway, when I got there, I met famous movie stunt drivers, and famous race car drivers! I actually got to drive in brand new cars with these awesome drivers! I got to bring the car around to a long runway, where three cones were set up quite a ways down the road. I hit the gas, and went full speed at the cones, as a traffic light on either the right or the left cone turned green right before me, and I had to immediately swerve to whichever side on which the traffic light turned green. It was scary, but awesome. The purpose of the exercise was to teach drivers how to avoid an accident or obstacle without hitting the brakes, specifically on the highway. After that, we moved on to a distracted driving exercise. We had to drive an SUV around tight curves, stop signs, road blocks, detours, and obstacles, while attempting to send a text message. We were supposed to maintain a constant speed, and were not allowed to come to a complete stop. IT WAS HARD. I stopped dozens of times, and failed to stop at a couple of stop signs, and didn’t take the right detour. I missed the detour sign! It was somewhat embarrassing. I did it again while trying to drink out of a water bottle. I came up to a tight curve in the road, and I subconsciously switched my focus onto the road, and dumped the water all over me. I think going to that workshop was one of the best learning experiences of my life. Now, when I see people on the road that aren’t using their common sense, I want to send them to that Ford clinic and teach them a lesson!

Leave a Reply

